Teachers of the Year Prepare for Sacramento County Competition

Press release

Sacramento City Unified School District’s 2017-18 Teachers of the Year: Mrs. Rebecca Siegert McGill of Rosemont High School and Mrs. Elizabeth Henrikson of Sutter Middle School have been nominated for Friday’s Sacramento County Office of Education Teacher of the Year Awards at the Hilton Arden West starting at 6:30pm. Both will be introduced by former students who can attest to the effectiveness of their teaching abilities. Below is some background information about Mrs. Siegert and Mrs. Henrikson.

Mrs. Rebecca Siegert McGill

Mrs. Siegert McGill has taught in the Sacramento City Unified School District for her entire 20-year teaching career. Throughout the past two decades, Mrs. Siegert has taught all grades and levels of high school English, including Advanced Placement and Reading Intervention, and she also coordinates all of the Senior Projects at Rosemont and organizes the graduation each year. Additionally, she is a co-founder and coordinator of Rosemont’s LEAD Program, which stands for Leadership and Enrichment through Academic Development. LEAD was founded in 2012 and combines a commitment to both the classroom and the community; students in the program challenge themselves by taking rigorous advanced classes while completing community service and designing service projects each year. Read more about Mrs. Siegert by clicking here.

Mrs. Elizabeth Henrikson

Mrs. Henrikson has been a teacher with the Sacramento City Unified School District for 19 years.  She began her teaching career at Freeport Elementary where she taught 4th grade for six years. In 2004, she was presented with the opportunity to teach 7th grade at Sutter Middle School. For the past 13 years, she has thoroughly enjoyed teaching 7th grade language arts and history at Sutter and absolutely loves the energy that comes with teaching junior high. Read more about Mrs. Henrikson by clicking here.

The Sacramento County Teachers of the Year program recognizes excellence in teaching within the county’s schools. Participating districts nominate individual teachers to receive this special recognition. SCOE also nominates one of its teachers to compete. At the Teachers of the Year awards recognition dinner on Friday, two teachers will be awarded Sacramento County Teachers of the Year and are then eligible to participate in the statewide competition. Click here for more information.