California Immunization Requirements
California law requires that each student entering school for the first time provide written evidence, unless an exemption is signed, that he or she has been immunized.
The evidence must show the month and year that each immunization was received. Since July 1999, California law also requires specific immunizations prior to entering the seventh grade.
Students need the following immunizations:
Important — effective July 1, 2001, a new immunization will be required for kindergarten registration: 1 dose for Chickenpox (Varicella) on or after the first birthday.
- Polio – At least three doses, unless the last dose was given before the fourth birthday, in which case one additional dose is required.
- DPT – Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (Whooping Cough)
- Children six years of age and younger need four doses, but if the last dose was given before age four, another dose is required.
- Children seven years of age and older need three doses of any combination of DPT, DT or Td, but if the last dose was given before age two, one more dose of Td is required. Pertussis (P) is not required after the seventh birthday.
- For seventh grade, effective July 1999, 1 dose Td booster, not required but recommended if more than five years have passed since last DTP, DT or Td dose.
- Measles (Rubeola), Rubella (German Measles) and Mumps
- For entering kindergarten, two doses of MMR are required. Both doses of MMR must be on or after the first birthday.
- For grades one to six, one dose of MMR, on or after the first birthday. An additional dose of MMR is re-commended, but not required.
- For grade seven, two doses, both on or after first birthday. Mumps vaccine is not required for children aged seven or older.
- Hepatitis B
- Three doses are required for kindergarten entry.
- Three doses are required for seventh grade
- Varicella (Chickenpox) effective July 1, 2001
- 1 dose on or after first birthday.
- Out of state entrants, grades 1-12, 1 dose for children under 13 years, 2 doses if immunized on or after 13th birthday.
The Child Health and Disability Prevention Program (CHDP) requires that each pupil entering first grade have the “Certification of Physical Examination for Entry into Grade One” completed or a signed waiver, which may be obtained at the school.
This physical examination may be completed within six months prior to starting kindergarten, or within 90 days after beginning first grade. The family’s usual source of health care may be used to obtain this health examination screening.
CHDP providers offer the checkup and needed boosters free to lower income families.
Forms and other information are available from the Health Services office, 643-9412.